

Since 2014, the Social Justice Committee has presented the Courageous Love Award to San Antonio area social justice heroes. Each year, on the Sunday before Martin Luther King Day, the Social Justice Committee of this church presents the *Courageous Love Award* to several individuals or organizations from our larger community that have shown courage and touched hearts in ways that exhibit Unitarian Universalist values.

## **Previous Recipients of the Courageous Love Award**

2025: Ada Babineaux, San Antonio International Black Film Festival
Andrea 'Vocab' Sanderson, former San Antonio poet laureate
Rev. Rob Mueller, Divine Redeemer Presbyterian Church
Ramon Vasquez y Sanchez & Ramon Vasquez, American Indians in Texas
at the Spanish Colonial Missions

2024: League of Women Voters of the San Antonio Region Rev. Ann Helmke, Faith Liaison for the City of San Antonio.

2023: Deborah Bush, Marquise Jones Foundation
Jacquelyn Callanen, Bexar County Elections Department
Laquita Garcia, Texas Organizing Project

2022: Pharoah Clark & Josie Garcia, Reliable Revolutionaries Doshie Piper, Professor of Criminal Justice, UIW

2021: Ananda Tomas, FixSAPD

Dr. Colleen Bridger, Assistant City Manager

2020: Carolina Canizales, SA Stands
Douglas Melnick, San Antonio's Climate change and adaptation plan
Erik Walsh, City of San Antonio Manager

2019: Mario Salas, San Antonio Civil Rights Leader, Author, Politician Aundar Ma'at & Born Logic Allah, Melaneyes Media

2018: Mehmet Oguz, Dialogue Institute San Antonio
Sister Denise LaRock, Interfaith Welcome Coalition
Marissa Bono, Mayor Nirenberg's Chief of Policy.

2017: Patti Radle, President of the SAISD School Board Pedro Martinez, Superintendent of SAISD

2016: Jeffrey Hons, Planned Parenthood South Texas Rev. Kelly Allen, Interfaith Welcome Coalition Jonathan Ryan, RAICES 2015: Healthy Futures

Planned Parenthood Project QUEST 2014

Diego Bernal

CAUSA